5 of 5 Stars Review for Final Protocol by J.C. Daniels

25600888
I won this book in a facebook giveaway, and have been dying to read it. I was kind of put off because I read several negative reviews about Final Protocol and how it glorified rape and had other bad content. While rape is certainly a part of Silence’s history that is discussed in detail (sometimes maybe a little too graphic), I can see where the author was coming from and why it is so relevant to the story itself. It isn’t the whole story, but it is part of it. I don’t think it overshadows the plot, or the writing. There is some pretty spectacular world building since this is set in the future, and J.C. Daniel’s writing style is very polished and quick paced.

Another criticism I read was that the romance element was thin, and that it was too rushed/not believable. I didn’t see that myself. Having come from an abusive background in RL myself I know that it doesn’t make you any less capable of hanging onto love when you find it. She had an established emotional and physical relationship with the hero before she goes back to bed with him. Yes, there’s been trauma, but it is far from overlooked on his part. They address it, and are still working through it when the book ends.

Final Protocol ends on a bit of a cliffhanger. It’s a lot of tragic backstory that drives the heroine to some extreme decisions that we don’t get to see played out completely. Here’s the truth, I couldn’t put it down. Any book that I don’t want to let go of until I’ve finished is a five star in my opinion. I read it in a day, and would love to read how this story plays out in the next book when it comes out. The descriptions were detailed and helped me to visualize the book as I went along. The writing was quick paced, albeit on the dark fantasy side (which I enjoy immensely). If you like SciFi and dark fantasy, you’ll love this book. It’s very much worth the time and its slot on your end of summer read pile.

Leave a Reply

